Fraud Blocker

Prize-winning book review really hits the plot at York Book Awards 


The Mount School proudly took part in York Book Awards 2022 which was commemorated with an Awards Ceremony held at St Peter’s School on Friday. The event was organised by school librarians from St Peter’s and All Saints with the intention of celebrating the joy of reading and highlighting the importance of librarians within schools and the local community.

Along with seven other York schools in total, The Mount librarian and library representatives from each school nominated their favourite books between September and November last year before a shortlist was compiled and pupils across Year 7 and 8 were invited to read them. Taking part for The Mount, pupils Isla, Kitty, Minnie, Peggy and Lexi each worked their way through the nominations list and submitted their reviews.  

Shortlisted titles: 

  • Boy Everywhere, A.M Dassu 
  • When the Sky Falls, Phil Earle 
  • A Kind of Spark, Elle McNicoll 
  • After the War. From Auswitch to Ambleside, Tom Palmer 
  • Where the World Turns Wild, Nicola Penfold 
  • The Game Just Got Real – Skywake Invasion, Jamie Russell 

Prior to the awards ceremony, pupils took part in a live Q&A and interviews with some of the authors via Zoom, here the pupils could ask questions about the narrative and inspirations behind the story, as well as the authors experience of writing a book. 

1st Prize and Commendations

Prizes were awarded for ‘Best Review’ and ‘Best Artistic Piece’ inspired by a shortlisted Book. Isla, Year 8 won first prize for her review on ‘Where the World Turns Wild, Nicola Penfold’ a title described as ‘a gripping adventure with a subtly delivered ecological message.’ While Alexia received a commendation for her book review and Peggy was commended for her creative piece, which will be on display in the children’s section of York Explore following the event.

In an extremely close final vote and with only 5 votes across the whole top 4, ‘Boy, Everywhere’ was announced as the overall winner of the York Book Awards 2022.


Previous Story: Changing Places Geography Field Trip